The BHA is the most comprehensive art bibliography available. It covers the European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. There are citations to books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 1,400 periodicals. 1975 - 2010. Includes Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie (1973-1989) and Repertoire international de la litterature de l'art (1975-1989).
Subjects covered include painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, crafts, graphic arts, and folk and popular art.
Provides citations for international peer-reviewed publications covering Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, contemporary art, new artists, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Art Index Retrospective is the bibliographic database of the Art Index (volumes 1-32), 1929-1984. Subjects covered include: Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, and Textiles.
Published by the Getty Research Institute a comprehensive American guide to the current literature of architecture and design. The database surveys US and foreign journals. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia as well as citation records for architects' obituaries. .
and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. In addition, this database also provides nearly 13,000 citation records for architects' obituaries.
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index (over 1.6 million records) plus unique full text content.
Subject Databases relevant to Art
Other disciplines have databases that cover art and art history from a different perspective.
. The ATLA Religion Database, produced by the American Theological Library Association (ATLA), is a comprehensive reference tool designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The database consists of more than 1.5 million records covering the research literature of religion in over 30 languages from 1,633 journals (518 currently indexed) and 18,700 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. The database covers 1949 to the present with a few journals going back to the mid 1800’s. Over 100 journals with full text.
International Medieval Bibliography and Bibliographie de civilisation medievale A citation index to the European Middle Ages (400-1500). Disciplines covered include: Art History, Classics, English Language and Literature, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, History, Archaeology, Theology, Philosophy, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Music, Theatre and Performance Arts, Rhetoric and Communication Studies. No book reviews. 1967 – present. Search The Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and the IMB simultaneously. The print version can be found in Room 316. T/P CB 1 .I61.
You may search the International Medieval Bibliography and the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale as part of the Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies.
This earthenware vase was made in the early 20th century.