Student Activism at Catholic University
National Issues
The March for Life is a cornerstone event at CU. The University is a top-tier sponsor of the event which attracts people from around the country, who are committed to the pro-life cause. On campus, classes are canceled during march hours, and the event attracts 300-500 CU students.
Throughout the University’s history, students have been engaged in significant national issues including civil rights and selling War Bonds during WWII.
Date: September 1943
Source: Alumni Magazines-Special Collections, Mullen Libraries, The Catholic University of America
Description: The 'Flying Cardinal' was a plane purchased through the sale of war bonds at Catholic University. The goal was to raise $75,000, enough to purchase a p-38 pursuit plane in the university's name. Fundraising began in September of 1943, and by February of the following year, the school had succeeded its goal, and the plane was on the way to becoming a reality.
Source: “Cardinal Plane,” Digital Exhibits, https://cuexhibits.wrlc.org/items/show/8480.
Source: Special Collections, Mullen Libraries, The Catholic University of America
Student Groups on Campus
CU has a significant number of student groups that cite advocacy in their purpose or mission statement. Depending on one’s interest, most students can find a community of like-minded folks with whom to share ideas and get involved in meaningful work. There are of course the College Democrats and Republicans, but there are also other politically focused groups like The CUA Progressive Student Union / Young Democratic Socialists of America, The Tocqueville Society at Catholic University, Young Americans for Freedom, and the Federalist Society. Other student organizations focused on advocacy include ASPCA @ CatholicU, Cardinals for Life, CUA Environmental Club, Habitat for Humanity, Migrant Rights Coalition, Network of Enlightened Women, The Olive Branch. Interested? For additional information on all campus groups, the Nest has information on getting involved go to https://nest.cua.edu/organizations
The College Democrats
As the present and future of the Democratic Party, and the primary representation of Democrats in the CUA community, our mission is to extend the long line of prominent and prolific Democrats…we are dedicated to fostering political growth and awareness by providing for the community, opportunities to experience government and politics in engaging, informative, entertaining, and intellectual forums.
The College Republicans
The Catholic University of America’s College Republicans is our university’s branch of the College Republican’s National Committee. The founding of our club dates back to 1892…College Republicans are dedicated to promoting conservative values, increasing student political involvement and discussion, as well as growing our conservative community.
Community Involvement
CU has also been involved in the neighboring community including celebrating the new metro station and other events. In 1970, the University opened its campus and invited friends and neighbors to explore, play, and enjoy live music. The goal was to begin to build relationships with our neighbors and start a conversation about how the university could benefit the Washington, D.C. community.
Date: 1970
Source: Cardinal Yearbook Collection, Special Collections, Mullen Libraries, The Catholic University of America
Date: 1970
Source: Cardinal Yearbook Collection, Special Collections, Mullen Libraries, The Catholic University of America
Date: 1970
Source: Cardinal Yearbook Collection, Special Collections, Mullen Libraries, The Catholic University of America
Date: 1970
Source: Cardinal Yearbook Collection, Special Collections, Mullen Libraries, The Catholic University of America
A handheld pennant used at the opening ceremony of the Brookland-CUA Metro Station on February 3. 1978.