Guides: Psychology Research Guide: Find Articles

Why articles?

Articles provide the current research, narrowly focused coverage, or detail.

Articles databases for Psychology

Current CUA students, faculty and staff can use these databases to search for articles on psychology or educational psychology.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This is the NO.1 psychology database for its coverage, quality, and reputation. It provides abstracts and citations to over 2,450 journals in psychology and related disciplines. It also includes books, book chapters, and dissertations. Coverage is from the 1800s to the present. Off campus users will need to log in using their CUA ID number.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
By far the world's most numerous collection of active full text peer-reviewed journals. It contains indexing for 666 Psychology & Psychiatry publications, with full text for 424 of those titles. Off campus users will need to log in using their CUA ID number.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database containing over 19 million bibliographic citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. It was developed by The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI ) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), and provides access to biomedical and genomic information.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
A serial publication that reviews the research in specialized areas of psychology and clinic psychology. Articles written by experts who summarize and discuss the most influential research and literature. Off campus users will need to log in using their CUA ID number.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of bibliographic information and full text of education journals as well as selected books and conference papers. Covers all levels of education and all educational specialties, as well as administrative, policy, and related social issues
ERIC This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U. S. Department of Education. The collection is primarily electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literat ure selected by ERIC from 1966-2003. The collection has expanded to include full-text articles.

How to get the full text of an article?

Using "FindIt" button in database to locate the full text

When you find an interesting article in a database, if the database doesn't provide full-text of the article, and you find the button, click on it. It will start to search our SearchBox to find out whether the databases and journals that CU subscribes contain that full-text article. If we do have the full text article, it will show you a list with the databases/journal package. Click the database/journal package name on the list, it will bring you to the full-text article. If we don't have the full text of that article, it will give you the option(s) to request it via the services our library provides.

Using SearchBox to locate the full text if you have the citation of an article

If you have the citation of an article, you can use our SearchBox to get the full text of the article. Watch this video to learn how to do this quickly and easily:

University Libraries

Psychology Research Guide

Why articles?

Articles databases for Psychology

How to get the full text of an article?

Using "FindIt" button in database to locate the full text

Using SearchBox to locate the full text if you have the citation of an article

See Also