BLOG POSTS (THE ARCHIVIST'S NOOK) - Special Collections — Labor History Materials - Guides at The Catholic University of America

Note

The following blog posts are listed alphabetically by the author's last name.

Walter Reuther – 50 Years Later

By Kimball Baker. The Archivist's Nook, April 29, 2020.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/12834/

Caption: Walter Reuther with James P. Davis, Bishop of San Juan, at AFL-CIO Meeting in San Juan, Puerto Rico, February 1959. George G. Higgins Papers, Special Collections, The Catholic University of America.

Read All About It – From Crime Reporter to Labor Advocate

By Shane MacDonald. The Archivist's Nook, May 4, 2017.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/9220/

Caption: Havana, Cuba, 1930. Harry Cyril Read (bottom right), Al Capone (back row, second from right). Following an illness, Read had been ordered to spend several weeks in a warm climate by his doctor. When Capone learned of this, he invited himself along.

What the Heck is a Labor Priest?

By Maria Mazzenga. The Archivist's Nook, March 3, 2016.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/7490/

Caption: Just call him “The Translator.” George G. Higgins knew how to talk labor in public. Here he is, on the right, at a press conference with Cesar Chavez and others involved in the California farm worker unionization effort in the 1960s.

A Labor of Love – Lantern Slides of T.V. Powderly

By Katherine Santa Ana. The Archivist's Nook, September 29, 2016.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/8456/

Caption: “Railroad Train” Lantern Slide #11

T.V. Powderly – Labor’s ‘American Idol’

By William J. Shepherd. The Archivist's Nook, January 21, 2016.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/7244/

Caption: Group portrait of leaders of the Knights of Labor, with Powderly prominent. T.V. Powderly Papers, The Catholic University of America (CUA).

John Mitchell – Apostle of Labor

By William J. Shepherd. The Archivist's Nook, April 28, 2016.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/7772/

Caption: Contemporary newspaper depicting the people and events of the Anthracite Coal Strike, 1902. John Mitchell Papers, American Catholic History Research Center and University Archives.

Philip Murray – A Pennsylvania Scot in Big Labor’s Court

By William J. Shepherd. The Archivist's Nook, May 25, 2017.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/9274/

Caption: Murray adorns the cover of Time magazine, a symbol of his national stature, on August 4, 1952.

Digital Rebirth – Labor Collections at Catholic University

By William J. Shepherd. The Archivist's Nook, January 25, 2018.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/10106/

Caption: Boxes, microfilm reels, and guide books for the Powderly, Hayes, and Mitchell Papers, 2018. American Catholic History Research Center and University Archives.

Speaking Labor to Power – W. B. Wilson

By William J. Shepherd. The Archivist's Nook, May 1, 2018.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/10390/

Caption: Photos of John Mitchell and W. B. Wilson from the pamphlet ‘Speech of William B. Wilson on Mitchell Day, October 29, 1901,’ Box 127, John Mitchell Papers, American Catholic History Research Center and University Archives.

CU’s Labor Chiefs

By William J. Shepherd. The Archivist's Nook, January 11, 2019.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/11136/

Caption: Catholic University Faculty—Carroll D. Wright, first U.S. Commissioner of Labor (1885-1905), courtesy of the U.S. Labor Department, and Charles P. Neill, second Commissioner of Labor (1905-1913), University Photograph Collection, American Catholic History Research Center and University Archives.

John Brophy – A Pennsylvania Miner’s Life

By William J. Shepherd. The Archivist's Nook, August 27, 2019.

https://www.lib.cua.edu/wordpress/newsevents/11777/

Caption: John Brophy with coal miners in the Donbas (Donets) Coal Basin, Ukraine, during a tour of the Soviet Union in 1927. John Brophy Papers, Special Collections, Catholic University.