Guides: Modern Languages and Literatures Research Guide: Italian Studies

Scholarly Resources on the Web

The following websites are portals to scholarly resources found on the Web.

Italian Collections at the Library of Congress

Open Educational Textbooks

Spunti: Italiano elementare 1 by Daniel Leisawitz, Daniela Viale
Publication Date: 2019
Spunti: Italiano elementare 2 by Daniel Leisawitz, Daniela Viale
Publication Date: 2018
Spunti: Italiano intermedio by Daniela Viale
Publication Date: 2019

Overview of the Italian Language and Literature Collection

Most of the reference material on Italian language and literature can be found in the Reference Room on the 1^st floor of Mullen Library (non-circulating). The call number ranges for Italian language is PC 1001-PC 1977 and Italian literature PQ 4001 – PQ 5999. Circulating material is found in the Mullen Library stacks. Floor map of Mullen Library; Map of Mullen Stacks. Check the WRLC catalog for monographs and journals that could be applicable to your topic. Check the CU’s e-journals for full text journal articles online.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies
Location: 1st floor reference room in Mullen Library.
more...less...
A 2-volume reference containing some 600 entries on all aspects off Italian literary culture. For more information, visit the Research Advisory Tool.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of Encyclopedia Britannica.

Dictionaries

The following dictionaries are a representative sample of the dictionaries available in the General Reference (1st Floor Mullen Library).

Cassell's Italian Dictionary: Italian-English, English-Italian.
Piero Rebora, Francis M. Guercio, and Arthur Lawrence Hayward. 1st edition. New York: Macmillan, 1977. PC1640 .C33 1977
Dictionary of Italian Literature, Revised and Expanded Edition.
Jody Robin Shiffman, Julia Conaway Bondanella, Peter E. Bondanella, and Evangelinus Apostolides. Rev. edition. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. PQ4006 .D45 1996
Dizionario Critico della Letteratura Italiana.
Vittore Branca, Armando Balduino, Manlio Pastore Stocchi, and Marco Pecoraro. 2nd edition. Torino: Unione tipografico-editrice torinese, 1986. PQ4002 .D5 1986
Dizionario della Lingua Italiana.
Niccolo Tommaseo, Bernardo Bellini, and Giuseppe Meini. 1st edition. Torino: Unione tipografico-editrice, 1861-1879. PC1625 .T66
Dizionario Etimologico della Lingua Italiana.
Manlio Cortelazzo and Paolo Zolli. 1st edition. Bologna: Zanichelli, 1979-1988. PC1580 .C67
Grande dizionario della lingua italiana.
Salvatore Battaglia. 1st edition. Torino: Unione tipografico-editrice torinese, 1961. PC1625 .B33 G7
Il Nuovo Zingarelli: Vocabolario della Lingua Italiana.
Roger J. Steiner. Rev. 11th edition. Bologna: Zanichelli, 1983. PC1625 .Z5 1983
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Italian and English Dictionary.
Adolf Tobler. 1st edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995. PC 1640. O935 1995
Sansoni-Harrap Standard Italian and English Dictionary.
1st edition. Centro Lessicografico Sansoni and Vladimiro Macchi. London: Harrap, 1970. PC1640 .S22
Using Italian: A Guide to Contemporary Usage.
J. J. Kinder and V. M. Savini. 1st edition. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004. PC1460 .K56 2004
Vocabulario della Lingua Italiana.
Giulio Cappuccini and Bruno Migliorini. 1st edition. Torino: G. B. Paravia, 1965. PC1625 .63 V8
English-Italian Dictionary - Translation - bab.la
The Cambridge Italian Dictionary
Barbara Reynolds. 1st edition. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1962-1981. PC 1640. R46 C1

Italian Online Catalogs

The following are excellent Italian catalogs to consult as you perform research.