1. Seals in the ancient Near East.
2. Seals, the antiquarian and the Archaeologist.
3. The Evidence of the Materials.
4. The Evidence of Technical Development.
5. The Evidence of the Designs.
6. The Development of Glyptic Studies.
See, e.g., Edith Porada, "Of Professional Seal Cutters and Nonprofessionally Made Seals," pp. 7-14; Hans J. Nissen, "Aspects of the Development of Early Cylinder Seals," pp. 15-23; J. Renger, "Legal Aspects of Sealing in Ancient Mesopotamia," pp. 75-88.
ARTstor contains more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences from over 150 major collections. Some collections include: Magnum Photos, the Illustrated Bartsch, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Museum of Modern Art, the Berlin State Museums, Erich Lessing Culture and Fine Arts Archives, Scala Archives, Carnegie Arts of the United States, the Natural History Museum in London, The Bodleian Library at Oxford University, the Mellon International Dunhuang Archive, and the Ezra Stoller Archive of Modern Architecture. There are a number of software tools available to the researcher for creating, presenting and managing collections. Please NOTE: First time users must be ON CAMPUS to create an account.
This encyclopedia offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on all aspects of this fundamental area of the visual arts. It covers fascinating historical and current uses of materials and techniques in a wide range of areas from painting and sculpture to non-traditional media such as digital and video art. Coverage includes materials in art practice, materials in conservation, classes of artifacts, techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes and forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners.
The JSTOR project is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, Asian Afro American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
Oxford Art Online comprises the Grove Art Online database [based on the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols)], the Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998, 4 vols.), and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001).