Skip to Main Content

Politics Research Guide

This libguide will get you started with your Politics research.

Web Resources

Intel websites (and other related sites)

AFIO’s guide to study of intelligence (Association of Former Intelligence Officers)

AFIO’s guide to intelligence careers

Analysis – a useful site from a retired FBI analyst (yes, it surprised me)

Bartleby – Great Books Online

BYU’s Kennedy Center – lecture archive

Church Committee reports

Center for the Study of Intelligence – books and monographs

CIA historical collections of released documents – see also left side menu

CIA documents – Freedom of Information Act search (scroll down for more document collections)

CIA – recommended readings

CryptoCellar – Cryptology and History

Declassified Documents Reference System – a Gale Cengage Database (by subscription only)
               Advanced search

Extraordinary Fidelity – and other CIA videos on YouTube

Federation of American Scientists government secrecy issue – see intel links

Federation of American Scientists – Intelligence Threat Assessments

Foreign Service Oral History Collection

H-Intel on H-net

IAFIE – links to journals and sites  (International Association for Intelligence Education)

IJIC index (International Journal of Intelligence and Counterintelligence) from 1986 to 2003

INS index  (Intelligence and National Security)

Intel bibliography – J. Ransom Clark at Muskingum (a marvelous resource!)

Intel News – allegedly by and for experts—often interesting

International Intelligence History Association (Germany)
International Spy Museum

Landscapes of Secrecy 2011 conference (many audio presentations) – takes a bit to load

Latitude and Longitude of a Point

Loyola University Strategic Intelligence site

National Security Archive (GWU)

National Security Archive – declassified docs in “briefing books”

New York Public Library – digital collections

OSS - US Army Special Operations Command site

OSS and SSU records – NARA

OSS personnel roster – NARA (takes a bit to load)

Political Graveyard

Presidential Oral History project – Miller Center, UVA

SSCI minority RDI report. 

See also http://ciasavedlives.com/authorized.html

Senate Select Committee on Intelligence – reports page

Special Forces Roll of Honour – includes CIA paramilitary

State Department Historian and FRUS

Studies in Intelligence, author-title index