- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is our largest general database, offering thousands of full-text journals, plus abstracts with links to many more, and comprehensive coverage of information in almost all subjects. Most of the periodicals are covered back to at least the early 1990s, but some content dates back as far as 1887. It also includes some monographs, reports and conference proceedings.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book
ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly ACLS History E-Book Project) contains over 2200 previously-published books converted to electronic format, as well as many new XML e-books. Covers all areas of humanities scholarship. Book reviews are included or provided through links. This databases is supported by the American Council of Learned Societies, several publishers and the Scholarly Publishing Office of the University of Michigan Library.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)
America: History and Life provides indexing (points to) journal articles, dissertations, book and media reviews about United States and Canada history from prehistory to the present. AHL has an excellent thesaurus (subject terms) and includes many links to the full text of articles.
- Annual Reviews
Critical review articles of scientific research in the biological, physical, and social sciences. Full-text is available for titles to which CUA subscribes.
- Anthropology Plus
Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
An online portal to full text anthropological resources. Offers access to AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs. Contains past, present, and future AAA periodicals other key anthropological resources, including text, sound, and video; and interactive services to foster communities of interest and practice throughout the discipline.
- Archive Finder
Archive Finder is a current directory which describes collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
The ArticleFirst database indexes articles from the table of contents of nearly 16,000 journals, along with a list of libraries holding the journal title.
- British Literary Manuscripts Online
British Literary Manuscripts Online, 1120-1900 is an extensive digital archive of manuscripts covering poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, stories, chronicles, religious writings, and other works.
- CQ Almanac
In-depth analysis of the path legislation takes through the U.S. Congress, from 1945 to today, including year-by-year tracking and legislative overviews.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
A full-text weekly magazine which, each week, devotes its entire issue to a discussion of a contemporary public policy topic or news event. Each 24-page issue presents background, chronology, an essay, opposing viewpoints and a bibliography.
- CQ Weekly
CQ Weekly is a magazine which covers the U.S. Congress. Each issue analyzes in detail both congressional and general political activity of the week. Major bills are followed from the time they are introduced until they are passed and enacted into law.
- Dissertation Abstracts International
The Dissertation Abstracts database contains information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester...(Continued. Click the 'i' icon to see more).
- Dissertations & Theses @ Catholic University of America - WRLC
Cites all Catholic University dissertations included in Dissertation abstracts international. Abstracts are available from 1980; 24 page previews are available from 1996. Full text is available for dissertations published after 1996. Dissertations from the early years may not be covered. For information about these dissertations please contact the Information Desk at the Catholic University of America (202-319-5070).
- Early English Books Online
The EEBO contains the full text of 100,000 early English works from 1475-1700. The subject areas include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
A digitized collection of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides, and more, issued 1701-1800. Most published in the U.K., some from the Americas and elsewhere. Significant collections of women writers of the eighteenth century, collections on the French Revolution, and numerous eighteenth-century editions of the works of Shakespeare are included. Where they add scholarly value or contain important differences, multiple editions of each individual work are offered.
- Electronic Collections Online
Full-text academic and professional journals in a variety of disciplines.
American Historical Association award-winning dissertations converted to electronic monographs and published(electronically) by Columbia University Press.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Historical Abstracts provides indexing (points to) journal articles and dissertations dealing with the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Historical Abstracts has an excellent thesaurus (subject terms) and includes many links to the full text of articles.
- Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports(JCR) is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Using citation data drawn from over 7,500 journals in the subject areas of science, technology, asocial sciences. JCR can be used to show you the: most frequently cited journals in a field;highest impact journals in a field; largest journals in a field; and hottest journals in a field. Citation and article counts are important indicators of how frequently current researchers are using individual journals.
- Journals@Ovid Ovid Full Text
Journals@Ovid searches citations from a variety of journals in Nursing, Psychology, and other subjects. Users should note that the CINAHL database provides more comprehensive and powerful search capabilities for researching a specific topic.
The JSTOR project is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, Asian Afro American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
- Library & Information Science Source
The Library and Information Science Source (LISS) contains English and foreign-language periodicals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, library school theses and books. Subjects covered are: librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval and information management. Specifically, LISS is comprised of: Full text for more than 430 journals; 30 full-text monographs, including Handbook of Electronic & Digital Acquisitions, Library/Vendor Relationships, Journals of the Century, etc.; Indexing for hundreds of high-quality journals, as well as books, research reports and proceedings ; and Thesauri including 10,800 terms, more than 4,090 of which are preferred terms
- Library & Information Sciences Abstracts (LISA)
Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
The LISTA bibliographic database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Delivered via the EBSCOhost platform, LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical. Sources include journal articles, books, dissertations, and bibliographies.
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
MOML provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) provides full-text, fully searchable content from a wide range of primary sources for the "long" 19th century, 1789-1914. NCCO indexes the full text of books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, diaries, photographs, statistics, literature, government reports, treaties, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Released incrementally beginning in 2012, NCCO's first four topical collections include: British Politics and Society; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Criminology
Guide to the core literature in criminology research and practice. Seamlessly links users to online journals, databases and books owned or licensed by CUA.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Social Work
Guide to the core literature in social work research and practice. Seamlessly links users to online journals, databases and books owned or licensed by CUA.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Sociology
Guide to the core literature in sociology research and practice. Seamlessly links users to online journals, databases and books owned or licensed by CUA.
- PapersFirst (Conference papers)
Over 580,000 papers included in every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium and meeting received at the British Library.
- Polling the Nations
Covers public opinion polls for the years from 1986 to present. Contains questions and responses from surveys conducted by Gallup, Harris, Roper, newspapers, television, magazines, non-profit research centers and religious groups. All surveys reported here were conducted using scientifically selected random samples.
A database of over 19000 citations to every congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received at the British Library.
- Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by Johns Hopkins University Press and contains the full text of over 350 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
- ProQuest Political Science
It provides access to over 140 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides full-text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
- ProQuest Research Library
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
- Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts is the premier online resource for researchers, professionals and students in sociology and related disciplines. Sociological Abstracts includes citations and abstracts from over 2000 journals indexed by Sociological Abstracts, plus relevant dissertation listings, abstracts of conference papers and selected books, citations of book reviews and other media , and citations and abstracts from Social Planning/Policy and Development Abstracts.
- Times Digital Archive
Backfiles of The Times (London, England) newspaper from 1785 to 1985.
- U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950
The relationship between Pope Pius XII and the Holocaust has been controversial. These State Department records are vital primary sources that focus on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank.
- Web of Science
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts contains citations and abstracts to political science journals published from 1975 to present. This database builds on the merged back files of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI/Plenum, 1975- 2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO,1984-2000.