Physics Library
Physics Library
101 Hannan Hall
Phone: (202) 319-5320
Hours
OR by appointment
Call 202-319-6178
Directions
Gift Policy
Need Help with eBooks?
Physics DB at CUA
- INSPEC (Engineering Village) An index to the literature of: Physics, Electrical Engineering, Electronics, Communications, Control Engineering, Computing, and Information Technology, Mechanical Engineering, manufacturing, and production. First published in 1898 as the Scientific Abstracts, INSPEC contains records from thousands of scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings, as well as certain books, reports, dissertations and patents...(Continued. Click the 'i' icon to see more).
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryContains journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
- MathSciNetMathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
- PubMedPubMed is a database containing over 19 million bibliographic citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. It was developed by The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI ) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), and provides access to biomedical and genomic information.
- ScienceAccess to Science magazine, one of the premier peer-reviewed general-science journals. This database covers full-text issues from 1997 to the present. Please use JSTOR for issues published from 1880 to 2000.
- arXivarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. arXiv is funded by Cornell University Library and by supporting user institutions. The National Science Foundation funds research and development by Cornell Information Science.
Teaching Links Basic
Research Plan
Overviews: CQ Researcher Plus Archive and Gale Virtual Reference Collection
News: LexisNexis Academic
Articles: General MultiSubject DB
Suggestions
Welcome to Physics
Welcome to the Physics guide! Here you will find ways to access many different resources in this subject. Please don't hesitate to send me an email or IM if you have any questions.

Department of Physics at CUA
The Physics Department at CUA is also home to:
Institute for Astrophysics and Computational Sciences
31st Annual Karl Herzfeld Memorial Lecture
Date: Thursday 12 April 2012
Time: Lecture begins at 4:00 (Reception to Follow)
Speaker: Guy Consolmagno - Vatican Observatory
2011 Physics Nobel Prize Resources
- The 2011 Nobel Prize Laureates- selected papers
- 2011 Physics Nobel Prize ResourcesFrom AIP 10.4.2011
Links to articles - Dark Energy - All Nobel Prizes for Physics
Articles for thought...
- Quantum DiariesFeb 2011 "Quantum Diaries is a Web site that follows physicists from around the world as they experience life at the energy, intensity and cosmic frontiers of particle physics. Through their bios, videos, photos and blogs, the diarists offer a personal look at the daily lives of particle physicists."
- Friday Fun: The bloated hydrogen atoms behave just as quantum theory predicts : Confessions of a Science Librarian2.4.2011
- NASA - NASA-Funded Research Discovers Life Built With Toxic Chemical12.2.2010
"Researchers conducting tests in the harsh environment of Mono Lake in California have discovered the first known microorganism on Earth able to thrive and reproduce using the toxic chemical arsenic. The microorganism substitutes arsenic for phosphorus in its cell components." - New nanoscale electrical phenomenon discovered"In our macroscale world, materials called conductors effectively transmit electricity and materials called insulators or dielectrics don't, unless they are jolted with an extremely high voltage. Under such "dielectric breakdown" circumstances, as when a bolt of lightening hits a rooftop, the dielectric (the rooftop in this example) suffers irreversible damage. This isn't the case at the nanoscale, according to a new discovery by Alan Hunt, an associate professor in the Department of Biomedical
- Science is Beautiful...Golden ratio discovered in a quantum world"They have measured the signatures of a symmetry showing the same attributes as the golden ratio famous from art and architecture." January 7, 2010
- Changing the Culture of Science Education at Research Universities | Science/AAAS1.14.2011
PHYSICS News!
Neil deGrasse Tyson at UB - What NASA Means to America
More Neil deGrasse Tyson on NASA from the Colbert Report 4.8.2010
- Awards Given for Big and Very, Very Small ResearchApril 29,2010 "Assistant Professor of Physics John Philip was given CUA’s Young Faculty Award for Achievement in Research for his efforts to manipulate the spin direction of electrons as a new way to process information in computer microprocessors."
- Pondering the Universe: Physics 103 Goes on a Cosmic AdventureSpring 2010 CUA Magazine "Today, students in Associate Professor Duilia de Mello’s astronomy class study the phases of the moon in the night sky above Catholic University’s campus. What they see leads them to better understand the universe in which they live."
- CUA Receives $1.6 Million to Test Environmental Impact of Nuclear Waste Turned Into GlassThe Catholic University of America Office of Public Affairs 3.3.2010 "As part of its ongoing research on transforming nuclear waste into solid glass that can be safely stored for thousands of years, CUA’s Vitreous State Laboratory (VSL) received a $1.6 million contract to test the long-term performance of such glass that will be produced and stored at the Washington state location where most of the plutonium for America’s arsenal of atomic bombs was created."
- CUA Physicist Awarded $364,000 to Crack One of Sun’s RiddlesThe Catholic University of America Office of Public Affairs 2.23.2010
The CUA professor’s research will help NASA design the Solar Probe, but the probe’s findings will, in turn, indicate the degree of veracity of Ofman’s and other competing theories explaining why the solar atmosphere is so much hotter than the sun’s surface.
Coordinator, Science Libraries |
Library Assistant, GLP |
Contact Info 200 Pangborn Hall The Catholic University of America Washington, DC 20064 Phone: (202) 319-5167 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
IM Science Libs
If IM Science Librarian
Chat is offline - please go to...
CUA Ask a Librarian
See Ask Us for options at CUA







Loading...
