- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete, first stop for the beginning researcher, is our largest multi-disciplinary database, offering thousands of full-text journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Most of the periodicals are covered back to at least the early 1990s, but some content dates back as far as 1887. The database features some content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. To cross-search additional subject-specific databases from this publisher, click on Choose Databases.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book
ACLS Humanities E-Book (formerly ACLS History E-Book Project) contains over 2200 previously-published books converted to electronic format, as well as many new XML e-books. Covers all areas of humanities scholarship. Book reviews are included or provided through links. This databases is supported by the American Council of Learned Societies, several publishers and the Scholarly Publishing Office of the University of Michigan Library.
- Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall
The Digital Concert Hall provides streaming, high definition video of the Berlin Philharmonic's performances. The library includes hundreds of concerts, covering all periods of music, as well as artist interviews and documentaries. New videos are made available each week, and more than forty performances are streamed live every year. The Digital Concert Hall also provides an app to make streaming more convenient on mobile devices.
- Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums (BMS)
The Bibliographie des Musikschrifttums online (Bibliography of Music Literature on-line) is an international and interactive bibliography of music literature. BMS includes monographs, articles and reviews from journals, Festschriften, congress proceedings, yearbooks, anthologies and essays from critical reports. Main sources for the BMS editorial staff are national bibliographies, journals, monographs and subject bibliographies. Furthermore, contributions from journals with an interdisciplinary view on music are considered for inclusion. We annually check some 2,500 sources and add approximately 10,000 articles and reviews. Bibliographic records are often amended by a summary. Our analog data from the period 1950-1975 are already revised and converted. BMS is continuously expanded.
- British Literary Manuscripts Online
British Literary Manuscripts Online, 1120-1900 is an extensive digital archive of manuscripts covering poems, plays, essays, novels, diaries, journals, correspondence, stories, chronicles, religious writings, and other works.
- Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
The Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology is a specialized resource for detailed information on hymns, hymn tunes, composers, hymn text writers, hymnals, organizations, and themes. Its content spans hymns in the Judaeo-Christian tradition, from the earliest years to those written today. The database is updated regularly for additions, amendments and corrections.
- Choral Music Collection Database
The Choral Music Collection contains over 4,000 choral pieces, published in single octavo scores, from all time periods, languages, and styles, both sacred and secular.
Note: This database does not index our expansive collection of larger choral works , which are included in the library catalog.
- Classical Scores Library
Classical Scores Library contains thousands of classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of multiple types of scores across various composers, genres, and time periods. Opera, vocal, and choral texts are re-keyed to allow for deep searching and textual analysis across more than 25 fields, enabling users to search based on composer, genre, musical period, score type, instrument and scoring, language, date of composition, and publisher.
- Dom Mocquereau Collection Database
The microfilming of seminal liturgical chant manuscripts began in 1974, with generous funding from the Dom Mocquereau Foundation. This unique microfilm collection of nearly 500 manuscript reproductions is often cited in scholarly musicological journals. The collection is most used by faculty, visiting scholars, and advanced graduate students whose research may involve the comparison of chant repertories or the readings of a chant as they appear in multiple sources.
- Drama Online
Drama Online is the award-winning online resource that offers a vast array of full-text plays complete with scholarly notes, annotated texts, critical analysis and contextual information. Access covers the earliest days of Greek drama to the present day, epics, monologues, new authors and the great playwrights. The resources are searchable by full-text or through a myriad of filters including content type, genre, period, author, setting and theme. Drama Online includes over 500 images from the Victoria and Albert Museum's rich archive of production photos.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
The EEBO contains the full text of 100,000 early English works from 1475-1700. The subject areas include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science
- Grove Music Online
Grove Music Online is recognized as the preeminent authority on music and is the most widely used music reference work in the academic and professional community. The online version contains the full text of the 28 volume print second edition (25 million words), including notated musical examples.
- International Music Score Library Project
International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP) attempts to create a virtual library containing all public domain musical scores, as well as scores from composers who are willing to share their music with the world without charge.
- IPA Source
IPA Source is the largest collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions on the web. IPA Source offers art song and opera texts to works for the solo voice in Latin, Italian, German, French, Spanish, and English and was developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature.
The JSTOR project is a digital archive of fully searchable back issues of scholarly journals in anthropology, Asian Afro American studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, general science, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, sociology, and statistics.
- Latin American Music Collection Database
The Latin American Music Collection contains over 2,000 scores by Latin American composers, including commercial publications, manuscripts, and reproductions of manuscripts provided by the composers themselves. It is housed in the Latin American Center for Graduate Studies in Music and may be consulted there or in the Music Library.
Founded in 1984, The Latin American Center for Graduate Studies in Music (informally called the Latin American Music Center, or LAMC), is a cooperative venture between The Benjamin T. Rome School of Music, the Organization of American States, and the Inter-American Music Council.
- Met Opera on Demand
Met Opera on Demand delivers streaming audio and video of more than 500 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances from the 'Live in HD' series, the classic Met telecasts from 1977-2011, and over 250 radio broadcast performances that dating back to 1936.
- Music Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
- Musical Theater Songs
Search for musical theater repertoire using 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, range, ease for accompanist, descriptive characteristics, tempo, and much more). MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards. Links are provided to find scores or audio recordings in the University Libraries? collection.
- Naxos Music Library
The Naxos Music Library is a sound-streaming service including the complete recordings of the Naxos label and others. It includes classical music (ancient times to the present), jazz, world music, folk, historical recordings and more. In addition to 85,000 tracks, which can be compiled into personal playlists for classes, the service contains extensive biographical information on composers and artists and notes on the works.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) provides full-text, fully searchable content from a wide range of primary sources for the "long" 19th century, 1789-1914. NCCO indexes the full text of books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, diaries, photographs, statistics, literature, government reports, treaties, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Released incrementally beginning in 2012, NCCO's first four topical collections include: British Politics and Society; Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
- Opera in Video
Opera in Video will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and stagings worldwide of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors. Performances cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Users may browse by composer, genre, performer, ensemble, time period, and role.
- Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by Johns Hopkins University Press and contains the full text of over 350 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.
- ProQuest Research Library
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
The database covers musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, analysis, composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy and education, and iconography. Abstracts are drawn from articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals/Répertoire international de la presse musicale provides access to eighteenth-, nineteenth- and twentieth-century periodical literature (1800-1950) dealing with music. RIPM indexes over 140 international music periodicals, as well as related articles in newspapers, literary periodicals, theatrical journals, and magazines.
- Sheet Music Collection Database
The Sheet Music Collection consists of nearly 10,000 published titles, including both single sheets of music and songbook compilations.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings.