Web Sites: General Sources
- American Historical Association Website The AHA annual meeting schedule, meeting announcements, a condensed version of the Directory of History Departments and Organizations and more are available on this site.
[http://www.theaha.org/] - History Cooperative This site comes from the American Historical Association, the Organization of American Historians and two publishers. It provides electronic versions of print journals to which your library subscribes.
[http://historycooperative.org] - History Matters This site is designed for History teachers and their students. It offers teaching materials, guides for analyzing historical evidence and first-person primary documents dealing with U.S. history. The site is maintained by George Mason University and the Graduate Center, City University of New York.
[http://historymatters.gmu.edu]
United States History Sources
- American Civil War Homepage This University of Tennessee site is a good starting point for research on the C such as ivil War. It lists links to other sites on the Civil War,the Constitution of the Confederate States of America.
[http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/] - Anti-Imperialism in the United States, 1898-1935. Includes links to the full text of articles, books, book chapters, essays and speeches. Created by author and editor Jim Zwick (check his credentials by clicking the "The Editor" button on the bottom of the page).
[http://www.boondocksnet.com/ail98-35.html] - American Memory This site contains digitized reproductions of material from the Library of Congress's American history collections.
[http://memory.loc.gov/ammem] - Civil War Resources on the Internet: Abolitionism to Reconstruction This site is part of the American and British history homepage at Rutgers University. It lists a variety of resources, including maps, online exhibits, excerpts from slave narratives and links to other useful sites.
[http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/history/civwar.shtml] - National Archives and Records Administration This site provides general information about the National Archives and Records Administration descriptions of the collections. These collections include current government information, the JFK Assassination Records and a database of the American West.
[http://www.nara.gov/] - The United States Civil War Center The United States Civil War Center at Louisiana State University combines scholarly pursuits with projects and programs designed to enhance the general public's perception of the Civil War. Provides links to Civil War booksellers, documents, events, historical sites, maps and other resources.
Latin American Sources
- Latin American Library -- Tulane University The collection is considered one of the most comprehensive of its kind, and includes materials from the pre-Conquest to the present day. This site provides a list of manuscript collections available, along with a brief description of the contents.
- Latin American Resources -- Mississippi State University This site provides links to historical and current information on Latin American countries. It is maintained by a professor, although it is no longer on the university's website.
European History Sources
- Eighteenth Century Resources on the Net Not restricted to historical topics, this Rutgers site deals with every aspect of eighteenth century study. The section on history includes links to full text documents and other interesting web pages.
- EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe This Brigham Young University site provides links to Western European historical documents. Documents are arranged by country.
- German History Contains primary source materials dealing with German history, politics and culture. Material is presented in 10 historical periods from 1500 to present. An attractive site; very easy to use. GHDI is an initiative of the German Historical Institute, Washington, DC.
- History Guide This site is maintained by the Bavarian State Library, Munich and Clio-online. It is a very rich source for websites based in Europe that deal with European history.
[http://www.historyguide.de] - Marxism Page This Australian National University site provides the full text of The Communist Manifesto, and other Marxist classics by Marx, Engels, Lenin and Trotsky. Links are provided to contemporary Marxist material.
- Victorian Web This site is maintained by the National University of Singapore. Nicely organized, it covers all aspects of life in Victorian England.
- World War II Links on the Internet This site, from the University of San Diego, offers annotated links to related World War II websites.
Treaties on the Web
- The Multilaterals Project This Tufts University site contains texts of international multilateral conventions. A majority of texts date from the second half of this century, but a few older documents are provided, including the Treaty of Westphalia.
- U.S. House of Representatives Internet Law Library--Treaties and International Law Provides over 1,600 links to treaties and international law sources on the Internet.
Internet Discussion Groups
- The H-Net's Electronic Discussion Lists An edited directory of discussion lists for the humanities and social sciences. Probably the best place for historians to begin. Tells how to subscribe.
E-Books
- ACLS Humanities E-Book A CUA Libraries subscription database, ACLS Humanites E-Book Contains previously published books to converted electronic format. This database is supported by the American Council of Learned Societies.
- Gutenberg-e American Historical Association award-wimming dissertations converted to electronic monographs and published (electronically) by Columbia University Press
- Project Gutenberg e-books This website offers free electronic books, most of which are in the public domain.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait