This is the "Home" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Search the University Libraries' website
Guide to sources of information for education
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.cua.edu/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page


This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for research in the field of Education.


New Books

The following books have recently been added to the Education collection in Mullen Library.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Purdue OWL APA Style

Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab): APA Style


Education Week

Below are recent articles from Education Week, a weekly publication that aims to raise awareness and understanding of critical issues facing American schools.

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Finding Books

 in CU only  in all WRLC
Advanced Search

Most education materials fall into the "L" class and are located in 2 Center of the Mullen Library stacks. Here is a list of the narrower subclasses:

  • L - Education (General)
  • LD - U.S. Educational Institutions
  • LA - History of Education
  • LH - College and School Publications
  • LB - Educational Theory and Practice
  • LJ - Student Fraternities and Societies
  • LC - Special Aspects
  • LT - Textbooks (General)

You can also use Subject Headings to locate books in the WRLC Catalog.  Here are some popular subject headings within Education:

Scholarly Journals in Education

Here is a short list of selected scholarly journals in the field of Education. To find more journal titles by searching keywords or by browsing subjects, click here.

Article Databases

  • 21st Century Education: A Reference Handbook
    It covers "the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of education ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st century."
  • ABI/INFORM Complete
    International resource for business information. Indexes over 1000 titles; full-text is available for many articles.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete, first stop for the beginning researcher, is our largest multi-disciplinary database, offering thousands of full-text journals, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Most of the periodicals are covered back to at least the early 1990s, but some content dates back as far as 1887. The database features some content going back as far as 1867, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. To cross-search additional subject-specific databases from this publisher, click on Choose Databases.
  • Career and Technical Education
    Vocational and technical education periodicals covering all aspects of the Vo/Tech curriculum. Selected full text articles available.
  • Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
    Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) has citations to articles published in more than 160 Roman Catholic periodicals, as well as essays, books, and book reviews on Catholic Church history and contemporary issues. Provides complete indexing of papal documents.
  • Chronicle.com
    On campus and remote access to the venerable publication, The Chronicle of Education, several e-newsletters, job listings, a blog, and forums for discussions. This is the essential resource for those who want to keep up with the latest news, trends, facts and figures in higher education. To set up a personal account that allows you to select newsletters and features that will automatically be received on your desktop, ipad, smartphone, or tablet, go to Chronicle.com and click on login.
  • College Blue Book
    Guide to 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Includes listings and detailed descriptions of institutions, degree programs offered, and financial aid and scholarships. Also includes occupational education programs.
  • Dissertation Abstracts International  
    The Dissertation Abstracts database contains information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester...(Continued. Click the 'i' icon to see more).
  • Dissertations & Theses @ Catholic University of America - WRLC
    Cites all Catholic University dissertations included in Dissertation abstracts international. Abstracts are available from 1980; 24 page previews are available from 1996. Full text is available for dissertations published after 1996. Dissertations from the early years may not be covered. For information about these dissertations please contact the Information Desk at the Catholic University of America (202-319-5070).
  • Education Research Complete
    Comprehensive collection of bibliographic information and full text of education journals as well as selected books and conference papers. Covers all levels of education and all educational specialties, as well as administrative, policy, and related social issues
  • Encyclopedia of Bilingual Education
    Provides information on bilingual education and related topics. Discusses how this topic affects schools, research centers, legislative bodies, advocacy organizations, and families. Explores the subject from multiple perspectives: its history, policy, classroom practice, instructional design, and research bases.
  • Encyclopedia of Education
    Intended to provide a comprehensive description of the enterprise of education both within the United States and throughout the world. Approximately 900 articles offer a view of the institutions, people, processes, and products found in educational practice.
  • Encyclopedia of Education Law
    Covers a number of essential topics, including: key cases in education law; constitutional issues; key concepts, theories, and legal principles; key statutes; treaties; curricular issues; educational equity; governance; rights of students and teachers; technology; biographies; and organizations.
  • ERIC
    The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U. S. Department of Education. The collection is primarily electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literat ure selected by ERIC from 1966-2003. The collection has expanded to include full-text articles.
  • ERIC (Ovid)
    The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U. S. Department of Education. The collection is primarily electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literat ure selected by ERIC from 1966-2003. The collection has expanded to include full-text articles.
  • Europa World of Learning
    Search or browse international directory of over 30,000 colleges, universities, and schools of art and music as well as libraries, learned societies, research institutes, museums and art galleries. Includes contact information, principal personnel, activities and publications where available. (Note: Europa is the publisher; the directory is not limited to Europe.)
  • Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)  
    Health and Psychosocial Instruments provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators...(Continued. To see more, click the 'i' icon).
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Research areas in LEXIS-NEXIS Academic Universe cover news,industry, and market news; legal news and research; company financial information; general medical topics ; accounting, auditing, and tax information; law reviews; case law; U.S. Code.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print  
    Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. This series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership...(Continued. Click on the 'i' icon to see more).
  • PsycINFO
    Covers nearly 2000 journals in psychology and related disciplines. Also includes books, book chapters and dissertations. Provides links to PsycARTICLES , a set of electronic full-text articles from 61 premier journals published by APA and allied organizations. Currently, the PsycART ICLES collection contains more than 116,000 articles published from 1806 to the present in the areas of psychiatry and psychology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
  • Web of Science
    Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."

Instruction and Marketing Librarian

Profile Image
Thad Garrett
Contact Info
Mullen Library 316A
The Catholic University of America
620 Michigan Ave NE
Washington, DC 20064
Send Email

Ask A Librarian



Please let me know whether this guide was useful. Thank you!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:

Your Email:

[Image: CUA Logo]

Loading  Loading...