This is the "Home" page of the "Conducting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Search for articles via SearchBox powered by Summon™ | Other databases
Search the University Libraries' website

Conducting   Tags: music conducting  

A guide to selected resources for students in the Conducting program.
Last Updated: May 25, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.cua.edu/Conducting Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Current Journals...

Electronic Subscriptions:

The New Yorker

Print Subscriptions:

For retrospective issues, print or electronic, see "Finding Journals" here.

 

Internet Sources for scores and sheet music


San Francisco State University keeps an excellent page of Scores on the Internet:

Internet Sources for scores and sheet music


The New York Philharmonic Digital Archives has an amazing online collection of scores, recordings, programs, photos and more. Of particular interest to conductors ate the online scores which show the marking of many great conductors. For contemporary American scores, in particular, you can see the beginnings of a performance practice that is now well formed.

Search the digital archives

 

You should know...

  • We subscribe to the Classical Scores Library which has many full scores from Boosey & Hawkes, Universal, and more, including many scores not in the Public Domain and therefore not available electronically anywhere else.
  • We subscribe to the Naxos Music Library, a streaming audio library which contains a great deal of contemporary recordings.
  • We have CDs, LPs, and video recordings (DVDs and Laser Discs). Sound and video recordings must generally be used in the library's listening room but may be taken to a class or lesson within the building if it is returned the same day before closing.
  • We often find scores that people have marked in. Please remember that these items belong to the library and keep them clean for other people to use. We charge fees for excessive markings.
 

New in the Music Library...

Cover Art
A Conductor's Guide to 19th-Century Choral-Orchestral Works - Jonathan D. Green
Call Number: ML128.C48 G73 2008
ISBN: 0810860465
This text serves as a field guide to the principal choral-orchestral repertoire of the nineteenth century. It provides conductors with the information they will need to make programming decisions, and it provides scholars with a starting point for research on these works.

Cover Art
Twentieth-century choral music : an annotated bibliography of music suitable for use by high school choirs - J. Perry White
Call Number: ML128.C48 W53 1990
ISBN: 0810823942
This is a critical bibliography of choral compositions accessible to the high school choir, representing major composers and stylistic trends during this century. The 1990 edition of the bibliography includes over 360 titles, providing a convenient sourcebook for secondary school choral directors, choral methods classes, and collegiate choral directors to use in building repertoire for their programs.

Librarian

Profile Image
Maurice Saylor
Contact Info
Music Library
101 Ward
202-319-5424
Send Email
Subjects:
Music

Assistant to Music Librarian

Profile Image
Thad Garrett
Contact Info
Music Library
101 Ward Hall
The Catholic University of America
620 Michigan Ave NE
Washington, DC 20064
202-319-5424
Send Email

Assistant to Music Librarian

Profile Image
Rachel Barham
Contact Info
Music Library
101 Ward Hall, School of Music
202.319.5424
Send Email
 
[Image: CUA Logo]
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip