This is the "Home" page of the "Music Theatre" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Search for articles via SearchBox powered by Summon™ | Other databases
Search the University Libraries' website

Music Theatre   Tags: music, music_theater, musical_theater, musicals  

A guide to selected resources for students in the Music Theatre program.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.cua.edu/MusicTheatre Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Current Journals...

Electronic Subscriptions:

American Theatre

Back Stage (Great place to find reviews!)

Billboard

Contemporary Theatre Review

Cosmopolitan

Dance Magazine

Dance Research

Dance Research Journal

Dance Spirit

Dance Teacher

The Drama Review

INSTYLE

New Theatre Quarterly; NTQ

The New Yorker

TCI: Theatre Crafts International (articles on lighting, set costume & makeup design, film, television, opera and dance design)

Print Subscriptions:

For retrospective issues, print or electronic, see "Finding Journals" here.

 

Ask about...

OUR GIANT BLUE BINDER OF MUSICAL THEATRE CONTENTS LISTINGS! We have photocopied the table of contents of every anthology and song collection we have and arranged it by composer. If you need a song by Irving Berlin, ask for the contents listing instead of guessing which one it's in!

THE BLACK BOOK! Nothing beats searching the computer for the availability of the item you want. But the annotated Black Book of Musicals might be a shortcut

OUR SPECIAL COLLECTIONS OF VOCAL MUSIC! We now have a searchable online database indexing our special collections of popular sheet music and anthologies which are SEPARATE from the regular library catalog.

 

New in the Music Library...

Cover Art
Death Takes a Holiday - Maury Yeston
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508 .D43 2012
ISBN: 1603784209
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Newsies - Alan Menken; Jack Feldman
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508 .N488 2012
ISBN: 1458477223
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
9 to 5 - the Musical - Dolly Parton
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508 .N57
ISBN: 9781423493846
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
The People in the Picture - Mike Stoller; Artie Butler; Iris Rainer Dart
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508 .P36 2012
ISBN: 1458418987
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Tangled - Alan Menken
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508 .T36
ISBN: 9781617741111
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Road Show - Stephen Sondheim
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508.R625 2012
ISBN: 1423487338
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Caroline, or Change - Jeanine Tesori
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508 .C288 2012
ISBN: 9781603787888
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown - David Yazbek
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508.W66 2012
ISBN: 1458417182
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Wonderland - Frank Wildhorn
Call Number: Desk Reference: M1508.W6 W44 2012
ISBN: 1603783725
Publication Date: 2012

 

Sheet Music Collection...

Not all sheet music is listed in ALADIN!

Sheet Music Collection

 

Recordings of interest...

These Smithsonian historical recordings are excellent for studying styles of singing and older repertoire. They are not searchable by keyword, so check them out and see what's there!

American Musical Theater
Call Number: Smith 036, etc. (multiple vols.)
Booklet (desk reference): ML 1711 A55 1989

American Popular Song
Call Number: Smith 031
Booklet (desk reference): ML 3551 A56 1984

Smithsonian Collection of Classic Jazz
Call Number: Smith A19477
Booklet (desk reference): ML 3561 J3 W54 1997

 

In Print...

Cover Art
No Legs, No Jokes, No Chance: A History of the American Musical Theater - Sheldon Patinkin
Call Number: ML1711 .P37 2008
ISBN: 0810119943
Written by one of American theater's most avid and knowledgeable proponents, No Legs, No Jokes, No Chance traces the American musical from its rich and varied beginnings in European opera, American minstrel shows, and vaudeville through its many permutations to its current state--from, as Sheldon Patinkin puts it, La Boheme to Rent. Minstrelsy, burlesque, revue, dance, and choreographers, the of musical theater so often overlooked by its historians, finally receive due consideration in this thorough and thoroughly entertaining book about how American musical theater came to be and developed into what it is today.

Cover Art
Theatre as Human Action: An Introduction to Theatre Arts - Thomas S. Hischak
Call Number: PN1655.H57 2006
ISBN: 0810856867
Publication Date: 2006
Unlike other introductory theatre textbooks that are written for theatre majors and assume a considerable amount of previous knowledge, this text is designed for the general-education student in college--one who might not be familiar with many plays and has seen only a limited number of productions.

Cover Art
How to Audition: For TV, Movies, Commericals, Plays and Musicals - Gordon Hunt
Call Number: PN 2071.A92 H8 1995
ISBN: 0062732862
Publication Date: 1995
First published in 1977, this revised edition is expanded and includes tips for television, film, and stage auditions. Several well-respected actors, directors, and composers share their wisdom, including Richard Dreyfuss, Stephen Sondheim, Darryl Hickman, and many more.

Cover Art
West Side Story: Cultural Perspectives on an American Musical - Elizabeth A. Wells
Call Number: ML410.B566 W45 2011
ISBN: 0810876663
Publication Date: 2011
Drawing on primary documentary sources, oral history, and early sketch material, Wells explores the creation and dissemination of West Side Story to diverse audiences.

Cover Art
Auditioning for the Musical Theatre - Fred Silver; Charles Strouse (Foreword by)
Call Number: MT 892 .S46 1988
ISBN: 9780140104998
Publication Date: 1988
Fred Silver shares excellent tips from his twenty-five years in the industry on topics such as choosing the right teacher or coach, pantomiming, what to sing in a callback, what to wear, and even how to deal with stage fright.

Cover Art
How to Audition for the Musical Theatre: A Step-By-Step Guide to Effective Preparation - Donald Oliver
Call Number: MT892.O4 1995
ISBN: 188039958X
Publication Date: 1995
Contains lots of practical advice based on years of Broadway experience.

Cover Art
Musical Theatre Auditions and Casting - Neil Rutherford
Call Number: MT 956.R87 2012
ISBN: 9781408160626
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides a unique perspective on the musical theatre audition process. With wit, humour and insight, Neil Rutherford guides the reader through the crucial elements of musical theatre auditions, opening up the process of casting to the thousands of hopefuls trying to secure work in this industry every year, as well as anyone involved in musical theatre.

 

E-Books

Cover Art
The Golden Age of American Musical Theatre - Corinne J. Naden
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0810877341
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Musical Theatre - John Kenrick
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 144119178X
Publication Date: 2010

Cover Art
Get the Callback - Jonathan Flom
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0810869535
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Class Differences in American Kinship - David M. Schneider; Raymond T. Smith
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 047202700X
Publication Date: 1977

Cover Art
American Popular Song Lyricists: Oral Histories, 1920s-1960s - Michael Whorf
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0786465387
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
American Popular Song Lyricists: Oral Histories, 1920s-1950s - Michael Whorf
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0786490624
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Hollywood Film Musical - Barry Keith Grant
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 1118231805
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Weill's Musical Theater - Stephen Hinton
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0520951832
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
The Musical - William Everett
Call Number: Electronic Book
ISBN: 0203891198
Publication Date: 2011

Librarian

Profile Image
Maurice Saylor
Contact Info
Music Library
101 Ward
202-319-5424
Send Email
Subjects:
Music

Assistant to Music Librarian

Profile Image
Thad Garrett
Contact Info
Music Library
101 Ward Hall
The Catholic University of America
620 Michigan Ave NE
Washington, DC 20064
202-319-5424
Send Email

Assistant to Music Librarian

Profile Image
Rachel Barham
Contact Info
Music Library
101 Ward Hall, School of Music
202.319.5424
Send Email
 
[Image: CUA Logo]
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip