Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Databases and Journals

Databases - find articles here by keyword searches

Fact Sheet: How are MEDLINE, PubMed, and PubMedCentral different?

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes indexing for 3000+ journals with coverage as far back as 1937 and full text coverage for over 300 journals. In addition to journals, includes healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and educational software.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Indexes allow for filtering studies by population, age group, gender, and peer reviewed literature.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a database containing over 19 million bibliographic citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. It was developed by The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI ) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), and provides access to biomedical and genomic information.

The COCHRANE LIBRARY
A collection of databases providing evidence-based practice information.
UptoDate
UpToDate is a clinical community offering evidence-based synthesized medical information for clinicians, faculty, students, and patients. Over 4,000 expert clinicians function as authors, editors, and peer reviewers. UpToDate facilitates interactions among the healthcare community, and helps clinicians give better care. UpToDate covers over 7700 topics in 15 medical specialties, includes a drug database, and is updated continuously with a new version released every 4 months. Please create a free account on UpToDate site in order to search.

Scopus

CU has recently acquired Scopus, a bibliographic database provided by Elsevier. Scopus is an index for academic articles, journals and authors. Among its many features, Scopus provides tools and features that lets users can track often a particular article or author has been cited. Researchers can use Scopus to identify the most useful articles in their field. Authors can also use Scopus to track how widely their work has been cited. Below are some basic sources to help you get started!

Check out Scopus for yourself!

Scopus Quick Reference Guide
An overview on how to search and navigate Scopus.
Scopus Tutorials
An archive of videos on using and navigating Scopus. Helpful tips for the first time user and experienced user alike!
Scopus libguide
Libguide produced by Elsevier. A comprehensive coverage of the various features of Scopus.

All About Scopus PowerPoint
The PowerPoint slides of a presentation on Scopus, delivered in the Mullen Library on 04/12/2023.
Scopus Content Coverage Guide
A PDF document detailing the extent of Scopus' holdings and references.

National Library of Medicine (NLM) catalog and databases

NLM LocatorPlus: The National Library of Medicine's online catalog for books, journals, and audiovisual materials.
[http://locatorplus.gov]
NLM Databases: Descriptions of, information on how to establish accounts for, and connections to the National Library of Medicine's databases: AIDS databases, Clinical Alerts, Images from the History of Medicine, and more.
[http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases/index.html]

Find an article

Articles can be found electronically and in print in the Catholic University Libraries.

Step one: Start your reseach in SearchBox (the articles tab).

Step two: Search a Nursing database using keywords pertinent to your topic. If the article is not available in full-text from a particular database, click on the "360 Find It" button.

Step three: Search CU's Journals for print and electronic journals. Works well when you have a citation, but not full text.

Step four: If CUA does not have the article you can request it through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Step five: Contact your library liaison at:

http://libraries.cua.edu/about/subjlibs.cfm