Skip to Main Content

University Libraries

Library and Information Science Research Guide

The knowledge and skill with which recorded information is selected, acquired, organized, stored, maintained, retrieved, and disseminated to meet the needs of a specific clientele

LC Subject Headings and Call Numbers related to Library Science

Library science books are held in Mullen Library - but if you don't find what you're looking for, try searching in the catalog. We have a growing collection of e-books as well as access to collections from other universities.

Relevant subjects can be found under the following call numbers:
 

  • QA75.5-76.95 Electronic computers. Computer science
    • 76.75-76.765 Computer software
       
  • TK5105-7017 Telecommunications. Signal Processing. Internet
    • 5105.875 Ethernet
    • 5105.888 Web pages
  • Z 1-39 History of books and book making
  • Z116-540 Book Industry and Trade
  • 278-549 Bookselling and publishing
  • Z551-656 Copyright
  • Z657-661 Censorship
  • Z662-1000 Libraries
    • 662-664 Collections
    • 665-718.8 Library science. Information science
    • 668-669.7 Library education. Research
    • 672-Z672.13 Library cooperation and coordination
    • 674.7-674.83 Library information networks
    • 675 Classes of libraries
    • 678-678.88 Library administration and organization. 
    • 678.9-Z678.93 Automation
    • 679-680 Library buildings. Library architecture Including planning, space utilization, security, safety, lighting, etc.
    • 680.3-680.6 Library communication systems
    • 688 Special collections
    • 689-689.8 Acquisition (selection, purchase, gifts, duplicates)
    • 693-695.83 Cataloging
    • 695.9-695.94 Indexing. Abstracting
    • 699-699.5 Machine methods of information and retrieval. Mechanized bibliographic control
    • 700 Bookbinding
    • 700.9-701.5 Physical parameters, preservation, conservation and restoration of books and other library materials
    • 711-711.95 Public services. Reference services
    • 712-714 Circulation. Loans. Charging systems
    • 719-723 Libraries (General)
    • 729-875 Library reports. History. Statistics
  • Z1001 Introduction to bibliography. Theory, philosophy,
    psychology. Bibliography. Documentation
    • 1003-1003.5 Choice of books. Books and reading.
    • 1003.8-Z1004 Book reviews
  • ZA 1-3149 Information Resources (general)
    • 3201-4149 Information Super highway
    • 4150-5185 Computer Network resources
    • 4201-4226 Internet, World Wide Web
    • 4375-4390 Research, how to use networks, services, etc.
    • 4550 Motion Pictures
    • 4650 Photographs
    • 4750 Sound Recordings
    • 5050-5185 Government Information

It is also possible to browse our e-Book collections by subject.

  • Ebook Library - On the right is a drop down menu where you can browse by category. Try library or librarian.
  • ebrary - Next to the search box click on all subjects. Then try library or librarian.