Welcome to Biomedical Engineering @ CUA! 

Biomedical engineers bridge the gap between medicine and engineering.

NIH Human Connectome Project

Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine

• The Open-i project aims to provide next generation information retrieval services for biomedical articles from the full text collections such as PubMed Central. It is unique in its ability to index both the text and images in the articles. The article retrieval is powered by Essie (the search engine that supports ClinicalTrials.gov).

Fact Sheet: MEDLINE, PubMed, and PMC (PubMed Central): How are they different?

• PubMed citations come from 1) MEDLINE indexed journals, 2) journals and manuscripts archived in PMC, and 3) NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed citations may have links to full-text articles or manuscripts in PMC, NCBI Bookshelf, and publishers' websites. If you limit your PubMed search to MeSH controlled vocabulary or the MEDLINE subset, you will only see MEDLINE citations in your results. 

Article Databases for Biomedical Engineering Research

• Web of Science
  Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."
• PubMed
  PubMed is a database containing over 19 million bibliographic citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. It was developed by The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI ) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), and provides access to biomedical and genomic information.
• Annual Reviews
  Critical review articles of scientific research in the biological, physical, and social sciences. Full-text is available for titles to which CUA subscribes. See Biomedical Engineering

• IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Contains journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.