Guides: Philosophy Research Guide: Critical and Standard editions

Greek and Latin Texts in Digital Form

Greek and Latin Texts in Digital Form
Digital Classicist has a wiki on locating collections of Greek and Latin texts.

Critical Editions Book Series

These series can all be found in the Greek and Latin Seminar Room (with the exceptions of the Corpus Christianorum and Sources Chretiennes series), but we may have circulating copies in the stacks. Click on the series names or search the catalog to find specific titles.

Bibliotheca Teubneriana
Call Number: PA3104 (Greek); PA6404 (Latin)
This series contains Greek and Latin literature from the earliest known works through late antiquity. Much of this series is available online through the Library of Latin Texts, and on CD-ROM.
Collection des Universites de France
Call Number: PA3405 .C5 - PA3405 .C7
This set contains critical editions of Greek and Latin literature up to the 7th century with French translation.
Scriptorum Bibliotheca Oxoniensis
Call Number: PA3405.S8 (Greek); PA6105.S8 (Latin)
This set covers a wide range of Greek and Latin sources. Also known as Oxford Classical Texts
Corpus Christianorum
Call Number: BQ310 .67 - BQ310 .762
There are multiple series of the Corpus Christianorum presenting Christian Literature from the patristic period to the Middle Ages in the original languages.
Sources Chretiennes
Call Number: BQ315 .S7
Sources Chretiennes includes many critical editions of texts in their original languages with introductions, commentary and translations in French.

Full Text Editions online

Library of Latin Texts
This database comprises almost all works published in the Corpus Christianorum, both the Series Latina and Continuatio Mediaevalis (approximately 70% of the database), Bibliotheca Scriptorum Romanorum Teubneriana and 600,000 words for the modern period. Selected works from the following series are also present: Corpus Scriptorum Ecclesiasticorum Latinorum, Sources Chrétiennes, Migne’s Patrologia, Acta Sanctorum, Analecta Hymnica Medii Aevi. The print version begins with T/P BQ310. C.67.

Patrologia Latina
Works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to Pope Innocent III in 1216. The print version is called ‘Patrologiae cursus completus’ editor J.-P. Migne 1844-1865. Two series, ‘Series Latina’ (221 v.) & ‘Series Graeca’(161 v). T/P BQ 310 .M351.

Patrologiae Graecae
Works of the Church Fathers in Greek with Latin translations covering the Apostolic Fathers to the Council of Florence 1439. T/P BQ 310 .M34.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Contains texts in Greek literature from the eighth century BCE to 600 AD. Also has historiographical, lexicographical, and scholastic texts from the period between 600 and 1453 AD. At present, 9,958 works associated with 2,314 authors.

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature
The corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe and the Latin works of the "peregrini" on mainland Europe during the period 400 - 1200 A.D. These texts span a variety of fields including theology, liturgy, grammar, hagiography, poetry, and historiography. A handful of philosophers are represented (e.g. Peter Abelard). Document types include legal texts, charters, and inscriptions.

Student Text Book Series

Loeb Classical Library (Greek Series)
Call Number: PA 3612
ISBN: 0674990811
The green-bound Loeb series offers the classical works of Greek literature in the original Greek with English translations. The writers in this series include Homer, Plato, Aristotle, Aeschylus, Sophocles, Aristophones, Philo, Josephus, and Plutarch among many others.

These series can all be found in the Greek and Latin reading room, but we may have circulating copies in the stacks. Click on the series names or search the catalog to find specific titles. Also available online.

Loeb Classical Library (Latin Series)
Call Number: PA6156
ISBN: 0674995716
The red-covered Loeb series offers the classical works of great Latin thinkers and writers in both the original Latin and English translation. The writers in this series include St. Augustine, Bede, Boethius, Celsus, Cicero, The Attic Nights of Aulus Gellius, Jerome, Prudentius, Seneca, and Tertullian.