This is the "Home" page of the "Music Librarianship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Search for articles via SearchBox powered by Summon™ | Other databases
Search the University Libraries' website

Music Librarianship   Tags: cataloging, library science, music, music librarianship, reference  

This guide includes useful sources in the field of music librarianship.
Last Updated: Dec 15, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.cua.edu/music_librarianship Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Home

Items from the CUA Music Library

Photo by Edmund Pfueller

 

Notes: Latest Articles

The quarterly journal of the Music Library Association.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

CUA Libraries Newsletter

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Welcome to the Music Librarianship Guide!

Who is this guide for?

This guide is designed for students in the joint degree program in music librarianship (MA/MLS) as well as any general library science student who has an interest in working with music materials.

What resources are inlcuded in this guide?

This guide includes a wide array of print and online resources including bibliographies, indices, handbooks, guides, and useful websites.  All resources mentioned are either free or available through CUA Libraries.

 

LOC Call Numbers

Where can I find relevant materials in the stacks?

The Library of Congress call numbers for the field of Music Librarianship are ML110-111.5.

Related topics include:

ML112-112.5 - Music Printing and Publishing

ML3797-3799.5 - Musical Research

Z662-1000.5 - Libraries and Library Science

For a complete listing of LOC call numbers, visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

 

Items of Interest

Here are some general titles in the field of Music Librarianship.  For more, please see the ML 111 section of the Music Library stacks.

Cover Art
Music Librarianship at the Turn of the Century - Edited by Richard Griscom
Call Number: ML111 .M756 2000
ISBN: 0810838664
Publication Date: 2000
This book is an excellent introduction to the current state of music librarianship. A total of fourteen authors contributed to shed light on various topics: collection development, preservation, cataloging, technology, copyright, reference, reference sources, user education, music publishing, sound recordings, the antiquarian music market, archives, and education for music librarianship.

Cover Art
American Music Librarianship: A Biographical and Historical Survey - Carol June Bradley
Call Number: ML111 .B77 1990
ISBN: 0313268207
Publication Date: 1990
For a history and development of the modern music library, turn to this book. Bradley chronologically highlights important events such as the Boston Public Library's decision to begin collection music scores in the 1840s and the appointment of Oscar G. T. Sonneck as the first head of the Music Division in the Library of Congress.

Cover Art
Music Librarianship: A Practical Guide - E.T. Bryant with the assistance of Guy A. Marco
Call Number: ML111 .B83 1985
ISBN: 0810817853
Publication Date: 1985
This guide, though it focuses primarily on British practices in music librarianship, spans a wide range of topics including administration, reference, cataloguing, classification, and sound recordings.

Assistant to Music Librarian

Profile Image
Thad Garrett
Contact Info
Music Library
101 Ward Hall
The Catholic University of America
620 Michigan Ave NE
Washington, DC 20064
202-319-5424
Send Email

Related Guides

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


[Image: CUA Logo]
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip