Search the University Libraries' website
Resources for research in Chemistry at The Catholic University of America
Last Updated: Sep 10, 2015
Welcome to the Chemistry research guide!
Libraries: Frequently Asked Questions
- Web of Science
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."
- American Chemical Society (ACS)
The American Chemical Society home page provides database searching; conference, education, and publication information; and access to some electronic journal titles. ACS is a nonprofit scientific society chartered by Congress. Its membership includes chemists, chemical engineers, and other related professionals. Two of its goals are to advance chemistry, and benefit the earth.
- American Chemical Society Publications
The American Chemical Society offers limited access to their online publications. PDF versions of full articles can be purchased online.
- Royal Society of Chemistry
The RSC is an organization in Europe devoted to the advancement of the chemical sciences. It is involved in education, conferences, science policy and promoting chemistry.
- Open i - Open Access Biomedical Search Engine
OpenI is the service of the National Library of Medicine that enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done by text queries as well as by query images. OpenI provides access to over 1.6 million images from about 580,000 PubMedCentral articles and 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports.
- American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AICHE)
The AICHE page, maintained by the Process Improvement Laboratory at the University of Florida, has information on organizational conferences, sponsored research programs, student chapters, and professional employment opportunities.
- National Academy of Sciences
In addition to the National Academy of Sciences, this site includes information about the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Overall, the site has scientific information on topics including the physical sciences, life and earth sciences, medicine and health, education and science and technology policy.
This is a searchable database of chemical compounds, including physical constants and links to information about the compound on the Internet. Created by CambridgeSoft Corp.
By joining this online chemistry club, members may gain full text online access to major chemistry journals, or search databases such as Beilstein for chemistry information. Most services require establishing a paying account with a credit card.
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library for Chemistry
The WWW Virtual Library for Chemistry offers a survey of university, non-profit, commercial, and many other links to chemistry information. The site is maintained by the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at UCLA.
- Protein Databank (PDB)
The Protein Databank (PDB) is an archive of experimentally determined 3-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules, serving a global community of researchers, educators, and students.