Search the University Libraries' website
Resources for research in Biology at The Catholic University of America
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2016
Welcome to the Biology research guide!
Make an in person or phone research appointment at:
Meet with a Librarian
212 Gowan Hall
PubMed is a database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Institutes of Health. It has been developed by the National Center for Biotechnolgy Information at the NLM, and is available free online. PubMed has approximately 19 million citations.
- NIH Office of Biotechnology Activities
"The NIH Office of Biotechnology Activities (OBA) promotes science, safety, and ethics in biotechnology through advancement of knowledge, enhancement of public understanding, and development of sound public policies. OBA accomplishes its mission through analysis, deliberation, and communication of scientific, medical, ethical, legal, and social issues." From http://oba.od.nih.gov/oba/index.html
- NIH Model Organisms for Biomedical Research
"We hope this web site provides you with information about national and international activities and major resources that are being developed to facilitate biomedical research using the animal models listed here. For organisms not listed, web pages may be developed in the future."
- Web of Science
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."
- NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to 700+ texts in life science and healthcare. Users can browse, retrieve, and read content. Provided by
the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.
- National Academy of Sciences
In addition to the National Academy of Sciences, this site includes information about the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. Overall, the site has scientific information on topics including the physical sciences, life and earth sciences, medicine and health, education and science and technology policy.
- Protein Databank
The Protein Databank (PDB) is an archive of experimentally determined 3-dimensional structures of biological macromolecules, serving a global community of researchers, educators, and students.
"Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance."