Search the University Libraries' website
Resources for research in Nursing at The Catholic University of America
Last Updated: Mar 11, 2015
Welcome to the Nursing research guide!
212 Gowan Hall
Libraries: Frequently Asked Questions
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)
The NIH home page, with links to health resources (including CancerNet and the NIH Information Index), grants and contract information, scientific resources, and institutes and offices.
- Web of Science
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science provides "Cited Reference Search" and subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription includes citations and references for articles in almost 9000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals published from 2002 to the present. Web of Science provides complete bibliographic data, searchable author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage is in the sciences (more than 6000 journals), followed by social sciences (approximately 1800 journals), and arts and humanities (approximately 1100 journals). For impact factor information about specific journals, users are directed to the index "Journal Citation Reports."
- NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to 700+ texts in life science and healthcare. Users can browse, retrieve, and read content. Provided by
the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.
- National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Institute is devoted to the understanding and treatment of mental health through research.
- National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
Institute is devoted to health and health care of Americans through nursing research and research training.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The CDC home page, which leads to a list of CDC centers, institutes, and offices (including the National Center for Health Statistics) and information on diseases, health risks, prevention guidelines and strategies; publications and products; funding opportunities; and training and employment.
- National Academies
The National Academies include the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council. The National Academies produce groundbreaking reports, and help shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance science, engineering, and medicine.
- America's Healthcare Source
Need a job? Search here for job opportunities in the health care industry (you can post your resume too). Educational seminars, licensure information and professional associations are available.
Resources for health information for patients, and their families and friends. A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
- Lippincott's NursingCenter.com
Continuing education, journal abstracts, health care news, forums, and other nursing links are available here.