Kept at the Circulation Desk...
American Song - Ken Bloom
Call Number: ML 128 .M78 B6 1996
ISBN/ISSN: 0028704843
Indexes many musicals and films. Contains name index for composers, cast members, producers, choreographers, etc. Very useful for finding more information about a song if you only know the song's title.- American song: the complete companion to Tin Pan Alley song - Ken Bloom
Call Number: ML 128 .P63 B62 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0028654781
Volume I lists composers and gives chronological lists of their works.
Volume II contains general song index, song index by year (helpful for choosing repertoire), and a list of collaborators.
Broadway Song Companion - David P. DeVenney
Call Number: ML 102 .M88 H59 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 0810833735
Very useful for picking repertoire for recitals or auditions: details musicals by title and gives range and style (character ballad, uptempo, slow, funny, etc.) for each song. Also contains lists of songs by style and voice type.- Musicals!: a complete selection guide for local productions - Richard "Chigley" Lynch
Call Number: ML 19 .L9 1994
ISBN/ISSN: 0838906273
"The Black Book." Tells what has been published from each show; also annotated as to what CUA owns: libretti/books/scripts (ML48 or ML50), vocal score (M1503), vocal selections (M1508), videos, and sound recordings.
Show tunes: the songs, shows, and careers of Broadway's major composers - Steven Suskin
Call Number: ML128.M78 S86 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0195125991
Summarizes and discusses the works of 36 major musical theatre composers. Contains song title index, list of collaborators, and chronological list of productions. Also lists songs that are unpublished, cut, or published for later versions and films.
Kept in the Reference Alcove (Reading Room)...
The American musical theatre song encyclopedia - Thomas S. Hischak
Call Number: ML102 .M88 H59 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 0313294070
Most useful for giving song summaries (which character sings it, where it comes in the musical, etc.).
A chronology of American musical theater - Richard C. Norton
Call Number: ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0195088883
"The gorgeous illustrations in this season-by-season chronology of every musical comedy, operetta, comic opera, burlesque, and revue performed on a major New York City stage from 1851 through May 2001 might be enticement enough to acquire this set. Entries for more than 3,000 plays include details such as the full cast, crew, production staff, venues, number of performances, creative personnel, and songs... Three indexes cover song titles, show names, and names of principal players and famous chorus members. Leaving appraisal and plot summaries to other classic references, these volumes are the most in-depth documentary source on the New York musical stage available, with a chapter that carries the timeline for selected plays back to 1750"--"The Best of the Best Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2003.
Cinema sheet music: a comprehensive listing of published film music from "Squaw Man" (1914) to "Batman" (1989) - Donald J. Stubblebine
Call Number: ML128.M7 S88 1991
ISBN/ISSN: 0899505694
Contains song index and film index for songs published from 1914 to 1989.
Great Song Thesaurus - Roger Lax & Frederick Smith
Call Number: ML 128 .S3 L4 1989
ISBN/ISSN: 0195054083
Most useful because it contains a "keyword" index: look up "money" and you get "Are You Making Any Money," "I've Got Five Dollars," "The Money Tree," "We're In The Money," etc. Helpful if you don't know the exact title.- Movie Song Catalog: performers and supporting crew for the songs sung in 1460 musical and nonmusical films, 1928-1988 - Ruth Benjamin & Arthur Rosenblatt
Call Number: ML 128 .M7 B46 1993
ISBN/ISSN: 0899507646
Has indices of songs, composers, performers, and films.
Song Index of the Enoch Pratt Free Library - Ellen Luchinsky
Call Number: ML 128 .S3 L82 1998
ISBN/ISSN: 0815329180
Indexes song collections (popular and classical). Search by composer or song title. Annotated with what is available at CUA.
You should know...
- All items from the desk must be checked out to you - even for use in the library. It's the only way we can keep track of who has what.
- The Music Library collects music theatre scores comprehensively
- We have a thorough collection of CDs, LPs, and video recordings (DVDs and Laser Discs). Sound and video recordings must generally be used in the library's listening room but may be taken to a class or lesson within the building if it is returned the same day before closing.
- Most of our music theatre scores are kept behind the Circulation Desk and are due back at the end of the day. But the library has many other resources available to you if you just ASK!
- We have up-to-date books and web resources that can tell you the plot of a show or who your character is, as well as a lot of other information about performers, shows, composers, etc.
- Photocopying music owned by the library instead of buying it might be illegal. Please ask a full-time staff member about copyright laws. Making copies of sound recordings for learning purposes can be legal if certain conditions apply.
- Our collection is for reference and for you to try out pieces you think you'd like to perform. If you decide to perform a piece, you should purchase your own copy so that you will have a legal score that you can use the next time you need it.
- Overdue fines for Desk Reference material are 1¢ per minute, to a maximum of $25. Fees for a lost item can be a total of $97 ($57 item replacement, $30 processing fee, $10 overdue fee), but please see a member of the full-time staff (Maurice or Rachel) if you think you have lost an item.
- We often find scores that people have marked in. Please remember that these items belong to the library and keep them clean for other people to use. We charge fees for excessive markings.
Sheet Music Collection...
Recordings of interest...
These Smithsonian historical recordings are excellent for studying styles of singing and older repertoire. They are not searchable by keyword, so check them out and see what's there!
American Musical
Theater
Call Number: Smith
036, etc. (multiple vols.)
Booklet (desk
reference): ML 1711 A55 1989
American Popular
Song
Call Number: Smith
031
Booklet (desk
reference): ML 3551 A56 1984
Smithsonian
Collection of Classic Jazz
Call Number: Smith
A19477
Booklet (desk
reference): ML 3561 J3 W54 1997
Ask about...
OUR GIANT BLUE BINDER OF MUSICAL THEATRE CONTENTS LISTINGS! We have photocopied the table of contents of every anthology and song collection we have and arranged it by composer. If you need a song by Irving Berlin, ask for the contents listing instead of guessing which one it's in!
THE BLACK BOOK! Nothing beats searching the computer for the availability of the item you want. But the annotated Black Book of Musicals might be a shortcut
OUR SPECIAL COLLECTIONS OF VOCAL MUSIC! We now have a searchable online database indexing our special collections of popular sheet music and anthologies which are SEPARATE from the regular library catalog.
Librarian |
Maurice SaylorAssistant to Music Librarian |
Rachel BarhamMusic Library
101 Ward Hall, School of Music
202.319.5424
Send Email
Subjects:
Vocal Music, Choral Music, Early Music
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait